I Agree   Leave a comment

I got this post from The Barefoot Runners Society. More specifically, this is a post by a fellow barefoot runner named Matt. I can’t find his own blog site (if he actually has any). I hope he doesn’t mind me borrowing his post.

 

“No, I’m Not”

This is in response to the woman who was running in the opposite direction the past Sunday morning — “No, I’m not.”

Huh? Well, as she passed me (I had been running ahead of her for 1/2 mile or so before I turned around, and we passed going oposite directions), we exchanged quick “good mornings”, then she got in a “You’re awesome!” as I was already past her.

I’m 99% sure this was because I’m not a shod runner.

But I didn’t really have time to explain how wrong she was.

I don’t run this way for any good reason, other than the fact that I failed miserably as a runner in shoes. So when I, out of desperation, tried out barefoot running a few years ago, it wasn’t out of some act of triumph. It was an acknowledgement of my complete failure as a shod runner. I had given up fighting the pain. I had pretty much given up on running.

Okay, so for the most part, going barefoot has been a good thing, and I’m now much more of a runner than I ever was before.

But I’m not “awesome”. If I was, I would be able to run in shoes.

I don’t run barefoot to be special or to stand out or to accomplish anything. I run barefoot just to run.

 

Amen.

I found this post very interesting. It’s like we’re on the same boat regarding why we are running without shoes. I, too, am not “awesome” or “hard core” or “astig” or “idol”. I just want to keep running.

Posted January 9, 2011 by Barefoot Yayan in barefoot running, injuries

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

