My Running Wish List   2 comments

When I started blogging about running, I wanted to have a blog for runners just like me, runners on a budget. In my case, in my late 20s, married with two kids, that could mostly mean almost no budget. But hey, that’s not why I run without any shoes on.

I’ve said many times that I love running because I can run without any special gadgets or equipment. I don’t need to sign up for any expensive classes or join expensive clubs. Heck, one doesn’t even have to pay if one wanted to join races. (note: banditry is bad, people!)

But that, of course, doesn’t mean that I don’t have my little wish list: those things that I would love to have just because I wanted to have them. I’m sure every runner has them. Well here’s mine:

 1. Vibram Five Fingers

If I am to run with any footwear, let it be minimalist running shoes. Plus they look uber-cool!

2. A Garmin running watch

A heart rate monitor which can also compute me the distance run. Oh, it tells time, too!

3. Compression pants

Who doesn’t want to look like a superhero once in a while, right?

4. Hydration belt

Should be useful running those long distances while not in races.

5. Running sunglasses

Running barefoot while wearing cheap shades can be dangerous because the fogged up vision can hinder me from seeing the little pesky rocks and things on the road.

Aside from a watch (something water-proof and digital, preferably lights up somehow), because I really don’t have any watch right now, I don’t think any of these are really necessary for me to enjoy my runs. But they would sure make one look good running them races, yes?

Posted August 25, 2010 by Barefoot Yayan in musings

2 responses to “My Running Wish List

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is interesting to read about your journey from running in shoes to barefoot running. Btw, have you heard of the Barefoot Runners Society? It is a community of barefoot/minimalist runners that I think you would find you have a lot in common with. 🙂 Visit our website at http://www.barefootrunners.org and see what you think. If you would like to join (currently by invitation only) drop me an email to miker(at)barefootrunners(dot)org and I’ll send you one out. Good Running!

Leave a Reply

