Barefoot Running?!   Leave a comment

I first tried running barefoot on pavement last saturday. It was just a short half km run from our place to the bakery to buy pan de sal and then back again. I would have to say it was really scary.. that is before the first footfall, or maybe even the second. After that, it was breathtaking. I didn’t expect it to be so simple and quite natural, it didn’t hurt at all. I expected it to hurt a lot each step because my foot was unprotected and there won’t be any support or cushion. The feeling of the wind between my toes was really incredible.

However, just after getting inside our gate, I knew that if I ran a bit more that time, it would start to hurt. Not because of the pounding that my soles got, but because my legs and feet weren’t really prepared for it. What I have read about barefoot running are correct, barefoot running uses other muscles that i didn’t use so much with my shoes on and these previously couch-potatoed muscles are angry to be forced to go to work now. That said, I should start slow.

Running barefoot does make you more aware (out of need than anything else) of how and where your foot falls. I’m sure nobody wants to step on that piece of glass or sharp rock or the usual dog crap. I read that running barefoot should improve your running form a great deal, too, but I cannot gauge that yet.

Yesterday, I ran barefoot again, just a couple of rounds around the Araneta Center. It was better but I know it would take me a few more weeks (maybe a month?) before i can do a 10k run.

If you want to read more about barefoot running, you can read about it here and here.
Posted December 15, 2009 by Barefoot Yayan in barefoot running

Leave a Reply

