First Race Done. Next!   Leave a comment

4AM, October 18, 2009, Yayan, Michel and Diwata were already awake and fully dressed. It’s the day of the first ever Quezon City International Marathon! Thousands of people from all around the world went to the Quezon City Circle to participate in this grand event and I definitely felt the excitement in the air. Runners of all ages, skills, shapes and sizes were stretching, doing warm-ups, fixing their running gear, attaching their race bibs, taking pictures, talking with other runners and listening to the program hosts’ announcements and interviews. It was very overwhelming. This is my first race and, boy, did I choose the right race for it, too. I was excited, I was scared, I was raring to go. I was going to run with all these people. I knew this day will never happen again for me.

clip_image002

while waiting for the 10k race to start

clip_image004

5AM and Diwata is very much awake

clip_image006

no, that is not a creepy smile

There was no feeling like how I felt when I crossed the finish line. Sure, I bet the endorphins had a lot to do with that but there was more to it. It was a great relief. There were a lot of freebies after the run, too. I loved the free massage even if it was too short (super-bitin!). I also got a free shoe bag from Nike and a bunch of other things. Diwata was able to buy her own 10k singlet for only P100. I even got to see a couple of old friends that also ran one of the races (Ruperes, hindi nagbago itsura mo since high school! Putok at Bano, nice to see both of you again). I’m just sorry I didn’t take the camera with me while I was running and we didn’t even think of taking more pictures after the run.

Now I just have to wait for the results because I have no idea how long it took me to run my first 10k. Ok, that’s not really accurate. I know it’s a lot more than an hour. Hehe..

This was definitely a day to remember and I want more.

Posted October 18, 2009 by Barefoot Yayan in marathons

Leave a Reply

